ERC Program "Family Album"

Throughout the years, many dedicated NSF professionals have supported the ERC Program as Program Directors, Leaders, and Managers. Some have been rotators from academia, some have been career NSF civil service employees. Their service has been invaluable in building and shaping the program and guiding the ERCs. Those who have had a significant and long-term impact on the Program are displayed in this gallery, along with current Program staff.

Current ERC Program Team

Program Management

Don Millard
Don Millard
Acting EEC Division Director

Carmina Rondono
Acting Deputy Division Director

Current ERC Program Directors

Dominique Dagenais

o ERC for Integrated Access Networks

Leon Esterowitz

o ERC for Revolutionizing Metallic Biomaterials

Bruce Hamilton

o ERC for Re-Inventing America’s Urban Water Infrastructure

Carmina Londono
Energy, Sustainability & Infrastructure Cluster Lead
o ERC for Quantum Energy and Sustainable Solar Technologies
o ERC for Future Renewable Electric Energy Delivery and Management
o ERC for Ultra-wide Area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Network
o ERC for Bio-mediated and Bio-inspired Geotechnics


Bruce Kramer


Deborah Jackson
Microelectronics, Sensing and IT cluster lead
o Lighting Enabled Systems & Applications
o Translational Applications of Nanoscale Multiferroic Systems
o ERC for Power Optimization for Electro-Thermal Systems

Carole Read
Manufacturing Cluster Lead
o Nanosystems ERC for Nanotechnology Enabled Water Treatment Systems

Junhong Chen
Bioengineering Cluster Lead
o ASSIST Nanosystems ERC

Mary Toney

o Nanomanufacturing Systems for Mobile Computing and Mobile Energy Technologies

 Robert McCabe

o ERC for Biorenewable Chemicals

Jose Lage

o ERC for Power Optimization for Electro-Thermal Systems

 Mona Zaghloul

o ASSIST Nanosystems ERC

 Alex Leonessa

o ERC for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering

 Eduardo Misawa

Program Staff and Fellows

Mary Poats
Precollege Education &
Research Experiences
for Teachers and Research Experiences
for Undergraduates

Kathryn Hoppe
Einstein Fellow
Research Experiences
for Teachers

Carole Read
ERC Program Director
University Education
Center Reporting


Ram Gupta


Dorothy Jones-Davis
AAAS Fellow

Deborah Jackson
ERC Program Director
ERC Innovation Ecosystem
Small Business Partnerships

Court Lewis
Communications (contractor)

Carmina Londono
ERC Program Director
ERC International Partnerships
ERCWeb Center Database

Alisha Williams
Program Support Manager

Marshall Horner
Program Specialist

Marcia Rawlings
Program Specialist



Past Staff and Roles

Staff Having Long-term Service and High Impact on the Program, 1980s into 2000s

Fred Betz
Program Director, 1986-1999

Marshall Lih
Head, Office of Cross-Disciplinary Research and Director, Division of Engineering Education and Centers (EEC), 1988-1999

Tapan Mukherjee
Program Director, 1986-2004

Linda Parker
Program Evaluation Specialist, 1993-2007

Mary Poats
Education Program Manager, 1990-present

Lynn Preston
Leader of the ERC Program 1988-2013 and Deputy Division Director 1984-2014

Darlene Suggs
Program Assistant, 1986-2008


Esther Bolding
Research Experiences
for Undergraduates


New Staff in the Eighties With a Significant and Long-Term Impact

Lewis "Pete" Mayfield
Head, Office of Cross-Disciplinary Research, 1984-1988

Sherry Scott
Administrative Manager, 1984-1994

New Staff in the Nineties With a Significant and Long-Term Impact

Cheryl Cathey
Program Director, 1996-2000

Christina Gabrielle
Program Director, 1991-2007

Larry Goldberg
Program Director, 1995-2003

John Hurt
Program Director, 1994-2006

Rajinder Khosla
Program Director, 1998-2010

Bruce Kramer
Program Director, 1994-present
and Director, EEC 1999-2004

Vilas Mujumdar
Program Director, 2005-2008

Joy Pauschke
Program Director, 1994-2000

New Staff in the 2000’s with a Significant and Long-Term Impact

Leon Esterowitz
Program Director, 2006-present

Deborah Jackson
Program Director, 2006-present

Barbara Kenny
Program Director, 2006-2013

Sohi Rastegar
Program Director, 2001-2006

Program Directors Serving for Shorter Terms

Fil Bartoli

Deborah Crawford

Daniel DeKee

Rick Fragaszy

Aspa Zerva

Theresa Good

Marc Ingber

George Lea

Theresa Maldonado
and Director, EEC 2011-2014

Joe Mathias

Judy Raper

Glenn Schrader