3.7 Contributing Authors

Norm Haller, a technical consultant working with SciTech Communications LLC, coordinated the contributions of a task group of ERC staff and wrote the chapter. **Court Lewis**, President of SciTech, organized and oversaw this effort. The ERC task group was led by **Wendell Lim**, Deputy Director of the Synthetic Biology Engineering Research Center (SynBERC), headquartered at UC-Berkeley, and **Henry Kapteyn**, a thrust leader at the ERC for Extreme Ultraviolet Science and Technology (EUV ERC), based at Colorado State University.*

The formative meeting for this work took place on December 2, 2009, as part of the National Science Foundation's ERC Program Annual Meeting in Bethesda, Maryland. Several teams met in an all-afternoon Research Thrust Leaders' Workshop to prepare a revised outline of Research Management Best Practices and develop some elements of the content. **Monika Ivantysynova**, Center for Compact and Efficient Fluid Power; University of Minnesota (CCEFP), was the team leader for Section 3.2. **Rich Schulz**, Quality of Life Technology ERC; Carnegie Mellon University (QoLT), led Section 3.3. **Alberto Cuitino**, ERC for Structured Organic Particulate Systems; Rutgers University, led Section 3.4. **Dan Siewiorek**, Quality of Life Technology ERC; Carnegie Mellon University (QoLT), led Section 3.5.

This chapter reflects the material developed there and subsequent reviews and additional inputs by workshop team members, as well as review by NSF ERC Program staff. In particular, in late 2010 and early 2011 additional comments relative to Sections 3.4, 3.5, and 3.6 were received by Court Lewis and Norm Haller. Some of these comments were from two original contributing members listed above (Alberto Cuitino and Dan Siewiorek). Other contributors were Joseph Montemarano, Executive Director, ERC on Mid-InfraRed Technologies for Health and the Environment (MIRTHE), Princeton University; Robert Karlicek, Center Director, ERC for Smart Lighting, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Jacqueline Vanni Shanks, Thrust 2 Leader at the Center for Biorenewable Chemicals (CBiRC), Iowa State University; and William Wagner, Deputy Director, ERC for Revolutionizing Metallic Biomaterials (RMB), North Carolina A&T State University.

*Dr. Lim is on the faculty at the University of California at San Francisco, a SynBERC partner institution. Dr. Kapteyn is a faculty member at The University of Colorado-Boulder, an EUV ERC partner.

Source URL: https://erc-assoc.org/best_practices/37-contributing-authors